Top downloads during week:     ACTRIS-INSITU (86 files)               EMEP (60 files)               GAW-WDCA (13 files)               NDACC (1 files)               

ACTRIS Aerosol Remote Sensing COVID-19 campaign data of May 2020 

Identifier

https://doi.org/10.21336/gen.xmbc-tj86

Abstract

This dataset collects ACTRIS/EARLINET data collected during a special measurement campaign held in May 2020 as part of the ACTRIS initiative for studying the changes in the atmosphere during the COVID-19 lockdown. As an active contributor to ACTRIS, EARLINET run its lidars and intensified its regular measurements in the early relaxation period in May 2020.

An intensive observation campaign was organized in May 2020. Measurements were collected following a specific schedule (each day, two times per day: a) around noon; b) after sunset). Data was processed in a centralized way using the Single Calculus Chain (SCC), with specific configurations and settings, and was made publicly available in near-real time (NRT). Data was afterwards reprocessed to take into consideration the results of the quality assurance tests and the model reanalysis, in order to improve the quality of the final products. The same procedure was applied to all datasets included here.

Data is classified as Level 1 and Level 2 data. Level 2 data is compliant to all the QC procedures currently working on the ACTRIS/EARLINET database. Level 1 data is data of lower quality since they fail at least 1 of the advanced quality controls running on the ACTRIS/EARLINET database. Particular attention should be paid using Level 1 data.

Creator

ACTRIS ARES Data Centre

Publisher

Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche - CNR

Data policy

ACTRIS aerosol profile data are freely available to individual users upon acceptance of specific data usage policy available at https://www.earlinet.org/index.php?id=127.

Contacts

Lucia Mona (lucia.mona@imaa.cnr.it), Giuseppe D’Amico (giuseppe.damico@imaa.cnr.it), Claudio Dema (claudio.dema@imaa.cnr.it), Francesco Amato (francesco.amato@imaa.cnr.it)

Data Curators

Mona, Lucia, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
D'Amico, Giuseppe, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Amato, Francesco, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Dema, Claudio, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Mattis, Ina, Deutscher Wetterdienst, Observatorium Hohenpeißenberg, Hohenpeißenberg, Germany
Baars, Holger, Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS), Leipzig, Germany
Binietoglou, Ioannis, National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics, Magurele, Romania
Ripepi, Ermann, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Amodeo, Aldo, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Nicolae, Doina, National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics, Magurele, Romania
Belegante, Livio, National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics, Magurele, Romania
Freudenthaler, Volker, Ludwig-Maximillian Institute for Meteorology, Munich, Germany

Data Collectors

Amodeo, Aldo, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Giunta, Aldo, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza, Italy
Mattis, Ina, Deutscher Wetterdienst, Observatorium Hohenpeißenberg, Hohenpeißenberg, Germany
Baars, Holger, Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS), Leipzig, Germany
Stachlewska, Iwona S., University of Warsaw, Faculty of Physics, Warsaw, Poland
Szczepanik, Dominika, University of Warsaw, Faculty of Physics, Warsaw, Poland
Bortoli, Daniele, Physics Dep. and Institute of Earth Sciences, ECT and IIFA, University of Évora, Evora, Portugal
Costa, Maria João, Physics Dep. and Institute of Earth Sciences, ECT and IIFA, University of Évora, Evora, Portugal
Perrone, Maria Rita, Unversità del Salento, Lecce, Italy
Romano, Salvatore, Unversità del Salento, Lecce, Italy
Dionisi, Davide, Institute of Marine Sciences (ISMAR), Italian National Research Council (CNR), Rome - Tor Vergata, Italy
Liberti, Gian Luigi, Institute of Marine Sciences (ISMAR), Italian National Research Council (CNR), Rome - Tor Vergata, Italy
Alados Arboledas, Lucas, Andalusian Institute for Earth System Research (IISTA-CEAMA), Granada 18006, Spain, Department of Applied Physics, Faculty of Sciences, University of Granada, Granada 18071, Spain
Guerrero Rascado, Juan Luis, Andalusian Institute for Earth System Research (IISTA-CEAMA), Granada 18006, Spain, Department of Applied Physics, Faculty of Sciences, University of Granada, Granada 18071, Spain
Komppula, Mika, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Atmospheric Research Centre of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland
Shang, Xiaoxia, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Atmospheric Research Centre of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland
Engelmann, Ronny, Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS), Leipzig, Germany
Sicard, Michaël, CommSensLab, Dept. of Signal Theory and Communications, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC), Ciències i Tecnologies de l’Espai-Centre de Recerca de l’Aeronàutica i de l’Espai/Institut d’Estudis Espacials de Catalunya (CTE-CRAE/IEEC), Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC)
Rodríguez-Gómez, Alejandro, CommSensLab, Dept. of Signal Theory and Communications, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC)
Hu, Qiaoyun, Laboratoire d’Optique Atmospherique, Lille University-CNRS, Villeneuve d’Ascq, France
Podvin, Thierry, Laboratoire d’Optique Atmospherique, Lille University-CNRS, Villeneuve d’Ascq, France
Apituley, Arnoud, Koninklijk Nederlands Meteorologisch Instituut (KNMI), The Netherland
Gouveia, Diego Alves, Koninklijk Nederlands Meteorologisch Instituut (KNMI), The Netherland
Pietruczuk, Aleksander, Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Belsk, Poland
Szkop, Artur, Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Belsk, Poland
Voudouri, Kalliopi-Artemis, Laboratory of Atmospheric Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Balis, Dimitris, Laboratory of Atmospheric Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Freville, Patrick, Université Clermont Auvergne - Observatoire de Physique du Globe de Clermont-Ferrand, Clermond-Ferrand, France
Baray, Jean-Luc, Université Clermont Auvergne - Observatoire de Physique du Globe de Clermont-Ferrand, Clermond-Ferrand, France
Stoyanov, Dimitar, Institute of Electronics, Bulgarian Academy of Science, Bulgary
Grigorov, Ivan, Institute of Electronics, Bulgarian Academy of Science, Bulgary
Ene, Dragos, National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics, Magurele, Romania
Nicolae, Victor, National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics, Magurele, Romania
Kuzmanoski, Maja, Institute of Physics Belgrade, University of Belgrade
Ilic, Luka, Institute of Physics Belgrade, University of Belgrade
Papayannis, Alexandros, National Technical University of Athens, Physics Department
Mylonaki, Maria, National Technical University of Athens, Physics Department
Amiridis, Vassilis, National Observatory of Athens - NOA, Greece
Marinou, Eleni, National Observatory of Athens - NOA, Greece
Pietras, Christophe, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace, CNRS and Ecole polytechnique, Palaiseau, France
Haeffelin, Martial, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace Sorbonne Université, CNRS, Paris, France

Stations and Contributors

EARLINET Stations involved: 20

AKY National Observatory of Athens – NOA

Vassilis Amiridis (vamoir@noa.gr), Maria Tsichla (mtsichla@noa.gr), Ioanna Tsikoudi (jtsik@noa.gr), Anna Gialitaki (togialitaki@noa.gr), Peristera Paschou (pepaschou@noa.gr), Eleni Marinou (elmarinou@noa.gr), Eleni Fatsea (efatsea@gmail.com), Eleni Drakaki (eldrakaki@noa.gr), Anna Kampouri (akampouri@noa.gr)

ATZ National Technical University of Athens, Physics Department

Alexandros Papayannis (apdlidar@central.ntua.gr), P. Kokkalis (panko@noa.gr), Maria Mylonaki (mylonaki.mari@gmail.com)

BGD IPB – Institute of Physics Belgrade

Zoran Mijic (zoran.mijic@ipb.ac.rs), Luka Ilic (luka.ilic@ipb.ac.rs), Maja Kuzmanoski (maja.kuzmanoski@ipb.ac.rs)

BRC Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona

Adolfo Comeron (comeron@tsc.upc.edu), Constantino Muñoz-Porcar (constan@tsc.upc.edu), Alex Zenteno (jazh@inaoep.mx), David García-Vizcaíno (dgarcia@tsc.upc.edu), Francesc Rocadenbosch (francesc.rocadenbosch@upc.edu)

CBW KNMI - Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute

Arnoud Apituley (arnoud.apituley@knmi.nl), Dave Donovan (donovan@knmi.nl), Diego Alves Gouveia (diego.gouveia@knmi.nl)

COG Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw

Aleksander Pietruczuk (alek@igf.edu.pl), Artur Szkop (aszkop@igf.edu.pl), Jerzy Podgorski (jp@igf.edu.pl), Michal Posyniak (mpos@igf.edu.pl)

EVO Institute for Earth Sciences(ICT-Instituto de Ciencias da Terra)

Daniele Bortoli (db@uevora.pt), Maria João Costa (mjcosta@uevora.pt), Vanda Salgueiro (vsalgueiro@uevora.pt), Sergio Pereira (sergiopereira@uevora.pt), Jana Preissler (jana@uevora.pt), Pavan S. Kulkarni (pavannpl@yahoo.co.in), Ana Maria Silva (asilva@uevora.pt), Miguel Potes (mpotes@uevora.pt)

GRA Andalusian Institute for Earth System Research, University of Granada(IISTA-CEAMA)

Lucas Alados Arboledas (alados@ugr.es), María José Granados Muñoz (mjgranados@ugr.es), Pablo Ortiz Amezcua (portizamezcua@correo.ugr.es), Juan Alfredo de Jerónimo Alvarez (Jaja@correo.ugr.es), Juan Antonio Bravo Aranda (jabravo@ugr.es), Juan Luis Guerrero Rascado (rascado@ugr.es), Francisco Navas Guzman (fguzman@ugr.es), Diego Bermejo Pantaleón (dbp@ugr.es), Marta Jiménez Martín (mmjimenez@ugr.es)

HPB DWD Meteorological Observatory Hohenpeissenberg

Ina Mattis (Ina.Mattis@dwd.de), Gerhard Mueller (gerhard.mueller@dwd.de), Frank Wagner (Frank.Wagner@dwd.de)

INO National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics (INOE)

Doina Nicolae (nnicol@inoe.ro), Livio Belegante (belegantelivio@inoe.ro), Iannis Binietoglou (ioannis@inoe.ro), Anca Nemuc (anca@inoe.ro), Camelia Talianu (camelia@inoe.ro)

KUO Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI), Atmospheric Research Centre of Eastern Finland, Kuopio

Mika Komppula (Mika.Komppula@fmi.fi), Maria Filioglou (maria.filioglou@fmi.fi), Elina Giannakaki (eleni.giannakaki@fmi.fi), Xiaoxia Shang (xiaoxia.shang@fmi.fi)

LEI Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Leipzig

Holger Baars (baars@tropos.de), Ronny Engelmann (ronny@tropos.de), Dietrich Althausen (dietrich.althausen@tropos.de), Elizaveta Basharova (basharova@tropos.de), Athina Floutsi (athina.floutsi@tropos.de), Moritz Haarig (moritz.haarig@tropos.de), Birgit Heese (birgit.heese@tropos.de), Cristofer Jimenez (cristofer.jimenez@tropos.de), Martin Radenz (radenz@tropos.de), Ulla Wandinger (ulla.wandinger@tropos.de)

LLE Lille 1 University - Science and Technology

Philippe Goloub (philippe.goloub@univ-lille1.fr), Thierry Podvin (thierry.podvin@univ-lille1.fr), Qiaoyun Hu (qiaoyun.hu@ed.univ-lille1.fr)

POT Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche - Istituto di Metodologie per l'Analisi Ambientale (CNR-IMAA), Potenza

Aldo Amodeo (aldo.amodeo@imaa.cnr.it), Lucia Mona (lucia.mona@imaa.cnr.it), Gelsomina Pappalardo (gelsomina.pappalardo@imaa.cnr.it), Aldo Giunta (aldo.giunta@imaa.cnr.it), Claudio Dema (claudio.dema@imaa.cnr.it), Giuseppe D’Amico (giuseppe.damico@imaa.cnr.it), Michalis Mytilinaios (michalis.mytilinaios@imaa.cnr.it), Francesco Amato (francesco.amato@imaa.cnr.it), Nikolaos Papagiannopoulos (nikolaos.papagiannopoulos@imaa.cnr.it), Sergio Ciamprone (sergio.ciamprone@imaa.cnr.it)

PUY Observatoire de Physique du Globle (OPGC-LaMP)

Patrick Freville (Patrick.FREVILLE@uca.fr), Karine Sellegri (K.Sellegri@opgc.univ-bpclermont.fr), Aurélien Chauvigne (A.Chauvigne@opgc.univ-bpclermont.fr), Jean-Luc Baray (J.L.Baray@opgc.fr), Nadege Montoux (Nadege.MONTOUX@uca.fr), Kruthika Eswaran (K.Eswaran@opgc.fr)

RME Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche - Istituto di Scienze Marine

Davide Dionisi (d.dionisi@isac.cnr.it), Gian Luigi Liberti (g.liberti@isac.cnr.it), Francesco Cardillo (francesco.cardillo@artov.ismar.cnr.it), Simone Colella (simone.colella@cnr.it), Marco Di Paolantonio (marco.dipaolantonio@artov.ismar.cnr.it)

SAL University of Salento, Physics Department, Lecce

Maria Rita Perrone (maria.rita.perrone@le.infn.it), Gianluca Quarta (gianluca.quarta@unisalento.it), Lucio Calcagnile (lucio.calcagnile@unisalento.it), Salvatore Romano (salvatore.romano@unisalento.it), Pasquale Burlizzi (pasquale.burlizzi@le.infn.it), Ferdinando De Tomasi (Ferdinando.DeTomasi@le.infn.it), Giuseppe Maruccio (giuseppe.maruccio@unisalento.it)

SIR Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique - Institut Pierre Simon Laplace, Paris

Christophe Pietras (christophe.pietras@lmd.ipsl.fr), Juan Cuesta (cuesta@lmd.polytechnique.fr), Jacques Pelon (jacques.pelon@aero.jussieu.fr), Patricia Delville (patricia.delville@lmd.ipsl.fr), Florian Lapouge (florian.lapouge@lmd.ipsl.fr), Marc Antoine Drouin (marc-antoine.drouin@lmd.ipsl.fr), Yohann Morille (yohann.morille@lmd.polytechnique.fr), Martial Haeffelin (martial.haeffelin@ipsl.fr), Francois Ravetta (francois.ravetta@aero.jussieu.fr)

THE Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki

Dimitris Balis (balis@auth.gr), Konstantinos Michailidis (komichai@physics.auth.gr), Nikos Siomos (nsiomos@physics.auth.gr), Kalliopi Voudouri (kavoudou@physics.auth.gr)

WAW University of Warsaw, Faculty of Physics

Iwona S. Stachlewska (Iwona.Stachlewska@fuw.edu.pl), Wojciech Kumala (kumala@igf.fuw.edu.pl), Dominika Szczepanik (Dominika.Szczepanik@fuw.edu.pl), Rafal Fortuna (rafal.fortuna@fuw.edu.pl), Lucja Janicka (lucja.janicka@igf.fuw.edu.pl)

Download Data

Data can be downloaded using EARLINET credentials. If not yet registered, registration is available here: https://data.earlinet.org/earlinet/userRegistration.zul.

https://data.earlinet.org/api/services/restapi/datasets/id/516/downloads

https://data.earlinet.org/api/services/restapi/datasets/pid/ARES/LCFUKTPCZKMII585U35Z9ZUKYFWO2AVC/downloads

Acknowledgments

The collection, curation and provision of data reported in the dataset has been supported by the involved RPOs, and national and international research projects. All the activities are performed in the general framework of ACTRIS RI.

Related identifiers

ACTRIS COVID-19 pandemic data collection

https://doi.org/10.21336/gen.682q-8163